PDA

View Full Version : Getting after "plat sellers"

Genda
03-15-2005, 06:08 PM
I've got a question for you.

I know it will just be speculation, but do you know whe the game publishers drug their feet in going after the IGE's of the world, before they got to be so big. Obviously, now IGE has resources which makes them a less desireable lawsuit prospect.

What do you think?

Peralay
03-26-2005, 04:35 AM
Add on questions.

Usually, during many sports events,mostly near the end, the announcers go through a spiel about the broadcast being the sole property of "yada yada" and that rebroadcasting or other public veiwings are prohibited without prior approval of "yada yada". (I know its not exact wording - sorry - I am a tech - not a lawyer). I read your post explaining contracts and this seems to fall quite a bit short of one (no offer or aggreement). So I wonder, is this enforceable by law and if so, can it be applied to MMOG software in some fashion?

DVD videos (rent and bought) have a nice little screen depicting Federal laws as it relates to the movie content at the beginning of each disk. Again, I have not memorized the contents of it. Do you think that someday a similar federal law will/could apply to MMOG software?

Oloh
03-30-2005, 10:23 AM
I've got a question for you.

I know it will just be speculation, but do you know whe the game publishers drug their feet in going after the IGE's of the world, before they got to be so big. Obviously, now IGE has resources which makes them a less desireable lawsuit prospect.

What do you think?

Sorry for the delayed response.

Well, hindsight is always 20/20. I wasn't involved in the early discussions about how to handle the secondary market. I do know Dark Ages of Camelot had some litigation over the issue, so at least some people were willing to take legal action.