News    Guild    Options    More
Forums:   Guild,    Games,    Hardware,    Misc
Home 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

0 Forum Home > Miscellaneous > Fozzik's Hardware > A couple of reformat-related questions...
 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-07-2006, 09:15 PM   #1
Doresain
Silky Venom Guest Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 160
 
Server: Shidreth
Name: Doresain Courdelion
 
Default A couple of reformat-related questions...

Hey guys, I have a couple of questions for your tech-savvy minds to mull over, if you're so inclined

I'm looking to format my machine this weekend and get a fresh start. At the moment, I have two 160GB drives in a RAID-0 array, and I'm looking to stop using RAID (as the performance gain is, supposedly, very small on a desktop machine). I'll be installing a new motherboard at the same time. Since my OS is on a seperate 40GB Raptor, is there any way to 1) dissolve the partitioning system that exists on this array and 2) go back to two independant drives, on a different mobo, without losing the data stored there?

My second question involves Windows x64. Basically, is it a worthwhile performance gain on a 64-bit CPU given that 64-bit apps (vanguard) will be coming out? I had planned on not upgrading till Vista, but since it is not due out till December, and thus not stable for a good 16 months at least, I'm really looking at a different 64-bit OS solution. Unfortunatly I don't know anyone who owns the OS, and I'm certainly not going to try using a cracked OS from an unreliable source. This means that the performance gain would have to be fairly significant to merit the $150+ I'd need to spend on the new OS.

I'm appriciative of any help or insight you might have
Send a message via AIM to Doresain Send a message via MSN to Doresain
__________________
Doresain Courdelion
(Former) Bard of Silky Venom
Shidreth Server
 
Doresain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 09:48 PM   #2
Lord_Vyper
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doresain
I'm looking to format my machine this weekend and get a fresh start. At the moment, I have two 160GB drives in a RAID-0 array, and I'm looking to stop using RAID (as the performance gain is, supposedly, very small on a desktop machine). I'll be installing a new motherboard at the same time. Since my OS is on a seperate 40GB Raptor, is there any way to 1) dissolve the partitioning system that exists on this array and 2) go back to two independant drives, on a different mobo, without losing the data stored there?
When you break a RAID array, the data goes byebye (except for RAID1). No way around that unfortunately.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doresain
My second question involves Windows x64. Basically, is it a worthwhile performance gain on a 64-bit CPU given that 64-bit apps (vanguard) will be coming out? I had planned on not upgrading till Vista, but since it is not due out till December, and thus not stable for a good 16 months at least, I'm really looking at a different 64-bit OS solution. Unfortunatly I don't know anyone who owns the OS, and I'm certainly not going to try using a cracked OS from an unreliable source. This means that the performance gain would have to be fairly significant to merit the $150+ I'd need to spend on the new OS.
From everything I've read, the performance gains for switching to XP 64 aren't enough to justify the potential hassle.
Stick with XP 32 till Vista comes out.
Send a message via ICQ to Lord_Vyper Send a message via AIM to Lord_Vyper Send a message via MSN to Lord_Vyper Send a message via Yahoo to Lord_Vyper
__________________
 
Lord_Vyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 10:27 PM   #3
Belisarius
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 102
Default

I agree with the snake above me, stick with 32 bit for the moment.

As far as RAID is concerned, I have no bloody idea.
 
Belisarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 03:02 AM   #4
Doresain
Silky Venom Guest Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 160
 
Server: Shidreth
Name: Doresain Courdelion
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord_Vyper
When you break a RAID array, the data goes byebye (except for RAID1). No way around that unfortunately.
Bummer. Will the data be safe if I switch to another mobo with RAID enabled, or is it wiped out in that case as well?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord_Vyper
From everything I've read, the performance gains for switching to XP 64 aren't enough to justify the potential hassle.
Stick with XP 32 till Vista comes out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belisarius
I agree with the snake above me, stick with 32 bit for the moment.
The people have spoken, and they say "32 bit."
Send a message via AIM to Doresain Send a message via MSN to Doresain
__________________
Doresain Courdelion
(Former) Bard of Silky Venom
Shidreth Server
 
Doresain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 03:26 AM   #5
Lord_Vyper
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doresain
Bummer. Will the data be safe if I switch to another mobo with RAID enabled, or is it wiped out in that case as well?
Very, very, very doubtful, but not impossible.
If your old RAID controller is the EXACT same make/model as the new one, it may work. If not, it won't.
Dump the info in your RAID onto CD/DVDs, or an external drive.

Just assume that anything you do to change the array will destroy whatever data's on that array.
Send a message via ICQ to Lord_Vyper Send a message via AIM to Lord_Vyper Send a message via MSN to Lord_Vyper Send a message via Yahoo to Lord_Vyper
__________________
 
Lord_Vyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 03:32 AM   #6
Doresain
Silky Venom Guest Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 160
 
Server: Shidreth
Name: Doresain Courdelion
 
Default

Ugh. >stares at 160Gb of data< Well, thanks. Time to get to it
Send a message via AIM to Doresain Send a message via MSN to Doresain
__________________
Doresain Courdelion
(Former) Bard of Silky Venom
Shidreth Server
 
Doresain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 04:25 AM   #7
Razorwire
Silky Venom Guest Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 986
Default

RAID isn't supposed to be moved, and it isn't meant to have to deal with new controlers (the big scare of RAID is a fragged controller) you are going to have to back up the 160gb of data some where else then break the array you won't be able to transfer it from one mobo to another. It's really a server thing where you set it up and let it run until you retire the server after 3-5 years.
Send a message via MSN to Razorwire
 
Razorwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 04:28 AM   #8
Doresain
Silky Venom Guest Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 160
 
Server: Shidreth
Name: Doresain Courdelion
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Razorwire
RAID isn't supposed to be moved, and it isn't meant to have to deal with new controlers (the big scare of RAID is a fragged controller) you are going to have to back up the 160gb of data some where else then break the array you won't be able to transfer it from one mobo to another. It's really a server thing where you set it up and let it run until you retire the server after 3-5 years.
Yeah, this is why I'm moving away from it now. Yay for DVD burners.
Send a message via AIM to Doresain Send a message via MSN to Doresain
__________________
Doresain Courdelion
(Former) Bard of Silky Venom
Shidreth Server
 
Doresain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:20 AM.



©2005-2011 Silky Venom
Hosted by...
Uberguilds Network